Order of Merit

His Excellency Michael D. Higgins, President of Ireland.


Mr. Patrick Guinness KCEG KLJ
Dr. Máire Ní Chearbhaill PhD
Dr Joe Mannion
Ms. Maura O'Gara O'Riordan

Dr.Michael Egan


The Order of Clans of Ireland is the highest honour that can be bestowed by Irish Clans. It is an order of merit conferred on individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to Irish culture and heritage or who have brought conspicuous honour to their Clan name.


There are no limitations on the number of people who can be admitted to the Order of Clans of Ireland. However, no more than four individuals can receive the award each year. Nominations are submitted to Order's Council and the names of those who are successfully chosen are announced on the 17th March (St. Patrick's Day) each year. A conferring ceremony is held in Dublin where those being honoured receive their insignia. Members are appointed as Companions of the Order of Clans of Ireland or in Irish Compánach Fhinte na hÉireann and may use the post-nominal letters CIOM.

Nominations are made through Clans who have maintained their registration with Clans of Ireland for three consecutive years or more, up to the date of nomination, and also by the Board.


The following individuals are appointed as Companions of the Clans of Ireland Order of Merit as of 17th March 2016:

Ms Margot Coogan CIOM 

Mr Eamon De Búrca CIOM

Professor Gregory Egan CIOM